Skip to Navigation | Skip to Content

Manchester & District
Orienteering Club

Night Street League Final - Sale

Prize-giving Event

Final event of the Night Street League Series 2014-15.

Read on for Marker's Comments, Prize-winners and Photos ...

Thu 05th Mar 2015

Type of event: Local, Night, Street
Type of terrain: Urban
Info updated: 09th Mar


Event Report

Marker's Comments

Wrong answers:

6 people wrote 7 for #36. Elizabeth Pain, Grahame (!!), Andrew Mainwaring, Laura Hindle, Peter Jackson, Mike Smithard.
4 people wrote A for #25. Chris Embrey, Julie Laverock, Amelia Hunt, Mike Smithard.
(nb. Mike Smithard was the only person to get both wrong.)
Steve Ingleby wrote 6 for #37
Pete Owens wrote 3 for #46
Carolyn Hindle wrote 1 for #43

John Britton

The Prize-winners

This year's NSL prize-giving event took place on Thursday 5th March at the Samuel Brooks in Sale on a new map 'Sale West' which included the most complex part of the Ashton-upon-Mersey map plus some brand new complex stuff to the south. The event was once again planned and organised by Peter Ross and Jillyan Dobby - the same team as for NSL4.

As last year, all those who took part were competing for the Hydrant Cup. This is presented to the person who performs best against their on-the-night handicap, which is based on their performance during the rest of the 2014-15 NSL series.

The winner of the Hydrant Cup this year was Jean Payne (DEE).

In addition to this, Grahame presented the Running Bear-sponsored Owl trophies to the winners of the Men's and Women's Handicap competition in the NSL, together with a number of small additional prizes for those who had done well in the overall league tables.

The list of prizewinners for the Night Street League Series 2014-15 is:

Handicap Trophy (Men): 1st John Embrey (DEE), 2nd John Britton, 3rd Steve Lang.

Handicap Trophy (Women): 1st Laura Hindle, 2nd Kath Speak, 3rd Hazel & Carolyn Hindle.

Gross Points (men): Leon Foster (AIRE); (women): Amy Barter (Stockport)
1st non orienteer Handicap (men): Tim Hargreaves (Stockport); (women): Julie Laverock (Salford)
No junior prizes were given as there were not enough participants.

Pre Event Info

The Hydrant Trophy will be presented to the winner on the night. The Running Bear-sponsored Owl trophies will be presented to the winners of the Men's and Women's Handicap competition in the NSL.

Venue: Samuel Brooks, 323 Manor Avenue, Sale, M33 4WD.

Register 6.00 to 7.00pm. Starts 6.30 to 7.30pm. Fee £3/£1.50.

Please contact Grahame beforehand to reserve your map and indicate whether or not you plan to eat.

Further details on the Night Street League 2014-15 page.


Nearest town: Sale

Contacts / Officials

Grahame Crawshaw 01457 866264

Safety and Risk

A comprehensive risk assessment will have been carried out by the organiser, but participants take part at their own risk and are responsible for their own safety during the event.

Privacy: when entering our events your name may appear in the results section of this website or in newspaper reports.
Read our privacy policy to see how we look after your personal data.

Back to top